Indian Super League (ISL) clubs and their stadiums 

Staff Staff

The Indian Super League (ISL) will be celebrating its tenth season later this year. With I-League champions Punjab FC winning promotion and making the ISL a 12-team tournament ahead of the 2023/24 season, we take a look in this article at all the ISL teams and their home grounds for the upcoming season. 

Also read: Premier League 2022-23 teams and their stadiums

Bengaluru FC 

Sree Kanteerava Stadium (25,810) 

Opened in 1997, the Sree Kanteerava Stadium was built over an old lake as an athletics track for the 1997 National Games. Since 2014, it has served as the home ground of Bengaluru FC. This purpose-built outdoor stadium has a maximum seating capacity of 25,810. 

Chennaiyin FC 

Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Chennai (40,000) 

The Chennai-based Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, constructed on the site of the former Madras Zoo and cricket field, is part of a wider sports complex located in the heart of Chennai. Opened in 1993, the stadium has been used by Chennaiyin FC as their home ground since 2014.

Despite its maximum seating capacity of 40,000, the average attendance at the stadium has always hovered around the 20,000–22,000 mark. 

East Bengal FC

Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan (68,000) 

The Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan, also known as the Salt Lake Stadium, is an all-seater multi-purpose stadium located in Kolkata. Currently, it has a seating capacity of 68,000, but prior to undergoing renovation in 2011, it had a seating capacity of 120,000.

Before the construction and opening of the Rungrado May Day Stadium in 1989, the Salt Lake Stadium was the largest stadium in the world. East Bengal FC have been using this facility as their home venue since 1984. 

FC Goa 

Fatorda Stadium (19,000) 

The Fatorda Stadium in Margao is the only international stadium in Goa. This 19,000-seater multi-purpose stadium has been used to host both international cricket and international football events.

Since the rise of the I-League in 2007, the Fatorda has been converted into a football-only stadium. FC Goa have been using it as their home ground since 2014. 

Hyderabad FC 

GMC Balayogi Athletic Stadium (17,500) 

The GMC Balayogi Athletic Stadium in Hyderabad, Telangana, is a multi-purpose stadium that was built to host the 2003 Afro-Asian Games. Since then, this 17,500-seater sports complex has mostly been used to host football matches.

Ahead of their maiden campaign in the ISL in 2019, Hyderabad FC announced the GMC Balayogi Athletic Stadium as their home venue. 

Jamshedpur FC 

JRD Tata Sports Complex (24,424) 

The JRD Tata Sports Complex, also known as “The Furnace”, is a 40,000-seater stadium in Jamshedpur. Despite being a 40,000-seater, this stadium’s capacity has been resricted to 24,424.

Opened in 1991, The Furnace has been mostly used to host football matches and athletics events. Since the 2017/18 season of the ISL, Jamshedpur FC have been using it as their home stadium. 

Kerala Blasters FC

Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium Kochi (41,000) 

The Jawaharlal Nehru International Stadium in Kochi, also known as Kaloor Stadium, is a multi-purpose stadium built in 1996. During its last renovation in 2017, its capacity was limited to 41,000 for various safety concerns. Previously, it had a seating capacity of 80,000.

Kerala Blasters FC have been using Kaloor Stadium as their home venue since 2014. As a result, the stadium operators have stopped hosting cricket matches in this venue. 

Mohun Bagan SG 

Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan (68,000) 

Similar to their arch-rivals East Bengal FC, Mohun Bagan SG have recognised the Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan as their home stadium since 1984.

Although the club have gone through several ownership changes and rebranding, their home venue has always been the Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan.

Mumbai City FC 

Mumbai Football Arena (6,600) 

The Mumbai Football Arena is one of the few dedicated football stadiums in the country. Located in the Andheri Sports Complex, this 6,600-seater stadium has been hugely appreciated by fans and pundits alike, resulting in them hosting a number of games for the Indian national football team.

The 2022/23 ISL League Shield winners shifted their home base to the Mumbai Football Arena in 2016, after their previous home ground, the DY Patil Stadium, was allotted to undergo construction for the 2017 U17 FIFA Men’s World Cup.

NorthEast United FC 

Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium (21,600) 

The Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium is a multi-purpose stadium built in the Lokhra locality of Guwahati, Assam. This 21,600-seater stadium is home to the NorthEast United FC since 2014, while also playing host to a number of national and international events including the 2007 National Games, the 2016 South Asian Games, and the 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup.

Odisha FC 

Kalinga Stadium (15,000) 

The Kalinga Stadium is a multi-purpose international sports complex in Bhubaneswar, Odisha. Founded in 1978, this stadium has been the home ground of Odisha FC since 2019. I-League club Indian Arrows also used this facility as their home ground from 2018 to 2022.

Besides football, the Kalinga Stadium has facilities for other sports as well, like athletics, field hockey, table tennis, tennis, basketball, volleyball, wall climbing and swimming. 

Punjab FC

Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, New Delhi (60,000) 

The Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in New Delhi was built in 1982 to host the athletics events and ceremonies of the 1982 Asian Games. Since then, it has been used to host numerous national and international events.

From 2014 to 2019, it was the home ground for former ISL club Delhi Dynamos. In their maiden ISL campaign, 2022/23 I-League champions Punjab FC will be using this stadium as their home ground on a temporary basis, because their previous designated home grounds, the Tau DeviLal Sports Complex and the Guru Nanak Stadium, failed to fulfil the Premier 1 licence requirement.

Punjab FC intend to move back to one of their original home grounds within a couple of years. 

Indian Super League (ISL) clubs and their stadiums
Bengaluru FCSree Kanteerava Stadium25,810
Chennaiyin FCJawaharlal Nehru Stadium Chennai40,000
East Bengal FCVivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan68,000
FC GoaFatorda Stadium19,000
Hyderabad FCGMC Balayogi Athletic Stadium17,500
Jamshedpur FCJRD Tata Sports Complex24,424
Kerala Blasters FCJawaharlal Nehru Stadium Kochi41,000
Mohun Bagan SGVivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan68,000
Mumbai City FCMumbai Football Arena6,600
NorthEast United FCIndira Gandhi Athletic Stadium21,600
Odisha FCKalinga Stadium15,000
Punjab FCJawaharlal Nehru Stadium Delhi60,000
ISL Clubs and their stadiums 
Share this article


Follow the author’s social media

Leave a Reply

The value is incorrect

The value is incorrect

The value is incorrect

Something went wrong. Please, try again later

Your comment has been sent!

Latest from

Shikhar Dhawan joins as MotoGP ambassador

Shikhar Dhawan becomes MotoGP ambassador

Shikhar Dhawan has been announced as a brand ambassador of MotoGP in India following an agreement with Eurosport India.

Ultimate Table Tennis ropes in IndianOil as Title Sponsor

Ultimate Table Tennis (UTT) ropes in IndianOil as Title Sponsor

Ultimate Table Tennis (UTT) has prolonged its partnership with IndianOil as the Title Sponsor for its forthcoming season.

Haas and Magnussen set to part ways

MoneyGram Haas F1 Team and Kevin Magnussen set to part ways

MoneyGram Haas F1 Team have announced that Kevin Magnussen will leave them following the end of the ongoing 2024 Formula One season.