India draws Kuwait, Pakistan, and Nepal in Group A of the SAFF Championships 2023

India draw Kuwait, Pakistan and Nepal in Group A of SAFF Championships 2023

May 17, 2023

The draw for the 2023 SAFF Championship took place on May 17, 2023. The tournament is scheduled for commencement on June 21 and will see a champion crowned on July 4.

Defending champions India are hosting this year’s SAFF Championship, and all games will take place at Bengaluru’s Kanteerava Stadium. 

As for the format, the eight participating nations are divided into two groups of four teams each. Each team will play every other team in their group, after which the top two teams from both the groups will qualify for the semi-finals.

The eight nations participating in the tournament are: India, Bangladesh, Kuwait, Bhutan, Nepal, Pakistan, Maldives and Lebanon.

Group A: India, Kuwait, Nepal, Pakistan

Group B: Lebanon, Maldives, Bhutan, Bangladesh 

Eight-time champions India will be looking for a strong performance at the SAFF Championship ahead of the Asia Cup in early 2024. Sunil Chhetri is the tournament’s highest scorer and will be looking to add to his tally. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Royal Challengers Bangalore partnered up with Rario
Previous Story

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) partner up with Rario

Chelsea FC signs FICO as official partner for Pre-Season Tour 2023-24
Next Story

Chelsea FC sign FICO as official partner for 2023-24 pre-season tour

Latest from Football News

Go toTop