Start Sports gets LPL 2023 broadcast rights

Start Sports gets Lanka Premier League 2023 broadcast rights

July 10, 2023

Leading Indian sports network Star Sports has bagged the exclusive television media rights for the upcoming Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2023 season, scheduled to be played in Sri Lanka from July 30 to August 21.

Star Sports will telecast the league live and exclusively in India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Nepal, the Maldives as well as the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region, including the UAE.

Colombo Strikers, Dambulla Aura, Galle Titans, Jaffna Kings and B-Love Kandy will be the five teams participating in LPL 2023. The last edition, played in December 2022, was won by Jaffna Kings.

Also read: Star Sports ropes in Rishabh Pant as latest Believe Ambassador

Anil Mohan Sankhdhar, Founder and CEO of IPG Group — the official rights holder of the LPL, commented:

We are delighted to announce Star Sports as the official television broadcaster for the fourth edition of the Lanka Premier League 2023. Since the inception of the LPL, it has not only showcased an exciting brand of cricket but also provided a platform for Sri Lankan cricket to steadily churn out talented cricketers. With committed stakeholders like Star Sports, we are very excited to bring the global cricketing audience an opportunity to not only witness an extremely competitive and captivating brand of T20 cricket but also dish out unmatched non-live cricketing content for fans across India, Sri Lanka, the subcontinent and MENA region.

Samantha Dodanwela, Tournament Director, Lanka Premier League 2023, said:

I am highly confident that the Lanka Premier League 2023 is going to reach new heights in terms of competitiveness among teams and excitement among fans, thus elevating the tournament to a new level; hence, having a renowned Broadcaster like Star Sports take the tournament to the doorstep of a wider audience is highly welcome.

A Star Sports Spokesperson added:

We welcome this exciting association with LPL. The league has witnessed thrilling action and a great fan base across the subcontinent and MENA region. With this association, the upcoming season will be able to reach a wider audience. We look forward to a great collaboration and a memorable experience for the fans.

The upcoming season will witness the presence of popular international stars such as Babar Azam, Shakib Al Hasan, David Miller as well as popular Sri Lankan stars like Thisara Perera, Wanidu Hasaranga, Angelo Mathews and Dasun Shanaka. The whole tournament will be played across two venues: Colombo and Kandy.

Aditya Chaudhuri

Hailing from the City of Joy, the things that bring me joy are cricket, a good non-tilt CS:GO session, F1 and movies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Everton and eToro joins forces
Previous Story

Everton FC and eToro join forces

People’s Republic of China National Football Team Sponsors
Next Story

China national football team sponsors 2023

Latest from Cricket

Go toTop