WPL Teams : Coaching and Support staff

Women’s Premier League 2023: Teams’ coaching and support staff

February 22, 2023

The first-ever season of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) is just around the corner, and the buzz around the tournament is a sign of positivity for the women’s game. The lengthened Indian franchise cricket season will see the WPL take place before the men get ready to battle it out in the Indian Premier League come the end of March. 

Any inaugural tournament sees multiple challenges, needing the right people behind the scenes to help guide and motivate the players to overcome their demons. Here is a round-up of the teams participating in the WPL and the coaching staff of the teams. 

Royal Challengers Bangalore

The RCB have quite an impressive set of coaches coming into the WPL season.

Ben Sawyer takes up the role of Head Coach. The former Aussie cricketer and the current New Zealand women’s national team head coach will be welcomed with open arms in Bangalore. 

Familiar faces in Malolan Rangarajan and Mike Hesson also form a part of the coaching set-up as Fielding Coach and Director of Cricket Operations, respectively. 

Lastly, there isn’t a name more prominent in Indian women’s sport than Sania Mirza, who will take on the role of Mentor of the Royal Challengers this season. 


Ben Sawyer: Head Coach
Malolan Rangarajan: Assistant Head Coach and Head of Scouting
Vanitha VR: Fielding Coach and Scout
RX Murali: Batting Coach 
Mike Hesson: Director of Cricket Operations
Sania Mirza: Mentor

Support Staff

Navnita Gautham: Head Athletic Therapist
Dr Harini Muralidharan: Team Doctor and Team Manager
Sabyasachi Sahoo: Physio
Huzefa Talib: Strength and Conditioning Coach
Soumyadeep Pyne: Head of Team Operations
Mridu Gautam: Assistant Physio
Radhika Bhikan Chaudhari: Assistant Massage Therapist

Delhi Capitals 

The Delhi Capitals have also made their announcements regarding the people behind the scenes.

Jonathan Batty, who has experience coaching the Melbourne Stars in the Women’s Big Bash League, will be Head Coach. At the same time, former cricketers Hemlata Kala and Lisa Keightley will perform their roles as Assistant Coaches. Biju George will look over the fielding of the side and is a familiar face between the women’s and men’s teams.


Jonathan Batty: Head Coach
Hemlata Kala: Assistant Coach 
Lisa Keightley: Assistant Coach
Biju George: Fielding Coach

Mumbai Indians

The Mumbai Indians have also announced their concise but shrewd list of coaches ahead of the WPL. Among the lot is Indian legend Jhulan Goswami, who will look over the bowling of the side and will act as Mentor. 

Meanwhile, former Adelaide Strikers coach and English legend Charlotte Edwards has been appointed Head Coach of the team.


Charlotte Edwards: Head Coach
Jhulan Goswami: Bowling Coach and Mentor
Devika Palshikar: Batting Coach

Gujarat Giants 

Former explosive Aussie batter Rachael Haynes has been named Head Coach of the Gujarat Giants. Indian legend Mithali Raj will be joining her in the coaching setup as Mentor. Nooshin Al Khadeer is also a part of the setup. The former No.1-ranked bowler in ODIs will take over as Bowling Coach of the side.


Rachael Haynes: Head Coach
Nooshin Al Khadeer: Bowling Coach
Mithali Raj: Mentor 

UP Warriorz

Jon Lewis has an abundance of coaching experience. Having been with the England men’s national team as the bowling coach and the head coach of their women’s national team, one can be assured of his knowledge of the sport moving into the role of Head Coach of the UP Warriorz. 

Former Indian keeper Anju Jain will take over as Assistant Coach, while former Aussie quick Ashley Noffke will oversee the bowling department. 

Lisa Sthalekar has been appointed Mentor of the side and rounds up the support staff named by the Warriorz.


Jon Lewis: Head Coach
Anju Jain: Assistant Coach
Ashley Noffke:  Bowling Coach
Lisa Sthalekar: Mentor 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

F1 TV Pro launched in India
Previous Story

F1 TV Pro launched in India

FIA announces host of new changes
Next Story

FIA announces host of new changes

Latest from Cricket News

Go toTop