Cricket News

Tata Group acquires Women's Premier League title rights

Aditya Chaudhuri Aditya Chaudhuri

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the Tata Group as the Title Sponsor of the upcoming inaugural season of the Women’s Premier League (WPL).

The Tata Group already serves as the Title Sponsor of the Indian Premier League (IPL). The deal is for a period of five years and will see the Tata Group serve as the WSL’s Title Sponsor till the 2027 edition. The group will promote its brands Tata Capital and Tata Motors during this period. 

The announcement was made by BCCI Honorary Secretary, Jay Shah. He tweeted:

I am delighted to announce the Tata Group as the title sponsor of the inaugural WPL. With their support, we’re confident that we can take women’s cricket to the next level.

Roger Binny, President of the BCCI, said:

We are really happy and excited to have TATA Group as the title sponsor for the WPL. We feel this is one of the most significant developments which will further boost the popularity of women’s cricket. The Indian women’s team has left no stone unturned to make the country proud and WPL is a step to indicate the upswing of women’s cricket in India. The tournament marks a new chapter in the history of women’s cricket in India and I am sure that it will set a new benchmark in the times to come; encouraging the Indian as well as the world cricketers to take up and pursue the sport.

Jay Shah, Honorary Secretary of the BCCI said:

Women’s cricket is achieving new heights with every passing day and having TATA Group on board as the Title Sponsor for the Women’s Premier League is a testament of the growing stature of women’s cricket in India. The WPL will now be called TATA Women’s Premier League. The BCCI values and appreciates women’s cricket and the WPL is one more initiative to further nurture the game.

Arun Singh Dhumal, Chairman of the IPL, added:

After extending their support to the IPL, we are happy to have TATA Group on board for the Women’s Premier League. We look forward to a fruitful partnership and the BCCI is sure the WPL brand will grow manifold with this move. I am sure this will be a long and enriching affiliation for both stakeholders. The beginning of the WPL is one more step in BCCI’s continuous endeavour to support and promote women’s cricket in India. This is the inaugural edition of the tournament, which promises to inspire and act as motivation for the budding women cricketers across the globe.

The first season of the WPL is all set to get underway from March 4, 2023. The tournament will be played entirely in Mumbai: at the Brabourne Stadium and the DY Patil Stadium.

The first season of the WPL will have a total of five teams competing, which are: Delhi Capitals, Gujarat Giants, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore and UP Warriorz.

The teams were sold for a total of ?4,700 crore and the sale of media rights fetched the BCCI approximately ?951 crore.

Tata Group acquires WPL title rights
Share this article
Aditya Chaudhuri

Aditya Chaudhuri

Hailing from the City of Joy, the things that bring me joy are cricket, a good non-tilt CS:GO session, F1 and movies.

Follow the author’s social media

Leave a Reply

The value is incorrect

The value is incorrect

The value is incorrect

Something went wrong. Please, try again later

Your comment has been sent!

Latest from

Rohit Sharma joins forces with Wavin

Rohit Sharma partners with Wavin

Indian professional cricketer Rohit Sharma has been roped in as brand ambassador by plumbing and drainage solutions provider Wavin.

Is Jasprit Bumrah the best Indian fast bowler of all-time?

Is Jasprit Bumrah the best Indian fast bowler of all-time?

Following Jasprit Bumrah's incredible 2024 ICC Men's T20 World Cup, pundits and fans have been singing the praises of the right-arm quick. We thought it was the right time to discuss if Bumrah is the greatest India quick of all time.

Ravi Shastri signs new deal with Petzzco

Ravi Shastri becomes principal advisor and brand ambassador for Petzzco

Former Indian cricketer Ravi Shastri has joined pet care service provider Petzzco as principal advisor and brand ambassador.