Cricket News

Best Indian Cricket Captains of all Time

Staff Staff

The Indian cricket team has witnessed some of the greatest set of players to represent the national team on the biggest of stages. They all had a sense of pride, passion, and determination within themselves to win every accolade they can for their country. However, it does take a special character to lead those men successfully to glory and play as a team. The captain’s role is a very responsible one and can easily make or break a team if the decision goes right or wrong. Let us take a look at some of the best Indian Cricket team captains to take that responsibility:

1. Mahendra Singh Dhoni – The name is familiar to every Indian who loves cricket as he is one of the most celebrated cricketers in India and around the globe. After getting the captaincy role, M.S. Dhoni has won the 2007 T20 World Cup, the 2011 World Cup, and the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy. He also led the Test team to many series win against the likes of New Zealand and West Indies and even won the Border-Gavaskar trophy in 2008, 2010, and 2013. He was the first captain to take India to no. 1 in test rankings.

2. Kapil Dev – Arguably the man responsible for the most iconic moment of Indian cricket so far, Kapil Dev is deserving of a number two spot in the list because of him leading our country to its first-ever World Cup triumph against all odds in 1983. He is also remembered for his amazing knock of 175 against Zimbabwe.

3. Saurav Ganguly – Another pretty influential captain of Indian cricket was the current BCCI president Saurav Ganguly who initiated the complete transformation of the Indian Cricket team after the 2000 match-fixing scandal and gave chances to many young and talented boys who had that fire in them to do well for the country like Zaheer Khan, Yuvraj Singh, Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh.

4. Virat Kohli – The current Indian Cricket team captain across all formats, Virat Kohli has proven to be a good choice for captaincy as he is the player who leads by example. He has kept the Test team on the number one spot for the past three years and has done well in many overseas tours. He might not have won any ICC trophy yet but has always taken the team to either the semis or the final stage.

5. Rahul Dravid – ‘The Wall’ of the Indian Cricket team, Rahul Dravid, who was the most trustworthy player on his team, had to be included in this list because of his excellent leadership skills. He had a career full of ups and downs where he made India beat England in England, which hasn’t been possible after that one time. His lowest low came when we got knocked out in the first round in the 2007 World Cup.

6. Ajit Wadekar – The legendary Ajit Wadekar had to be included in the list of great captains as he is the person who laid the seeds for the Indian cricket team to be a superpower in the future. He made us win for the first time against teams like West Indies and England, both in 1971. He also won the Arjuna Award and the Padma Shri award for his excellent services to the nation.

Share this article


Follow the author’s social media

Leave a Reply

The value is incorrect

The value is incorrect

The value is incorrect

Something went wrong. Please, try again later

Your comment has been sent!

Latest from

Rohit Sharma joins forces with Wavin

Rohit Sharma joins forces with Wavin

Indian men's cricket team captain Rohit Sharma has been roped in as the brand ambassador of plumbing and drainage solutions firm Wavin. Sharma is set to promote the company's products...

Is Jasprit Bumrah the best Indian fast bowler of all-time?

Is Jasprit Bumrah the best Indian fast bowler of all-time?

Following Jasprit Bumrah's incredible 2024 ICC Men's T20 World Cup, pundits and fans have been singing the praises of the right-arm quick. We thought it was the right time to discuss if Bumrah is the greatest India quick of all time.

Ravi Shastri signs new deal with Petzzco

Ravi Shastri becomes principal advisor and brand ambassador for Petzzco

Former Indian cricketer Ravi Shastri has joined pet care service provider Petzzco as principal advisor and brand ambassador.